Andersson Trail

Andersson Trail

Lace up your hiking boots and explore the valley of Waterberg Wilderness on five demarcated trails. Various difficulties but all with stunning viewpoints. Below is an insight into the Andersson Trail and its namesake. A Swedish explorer at Waterberg  This trail is...
Warthog folklore

Warthog folklore

Often regarded as a hard-featured animal, the warthog is the protagonist in our slightly different Christmas story – of warts and African folklore. As is well known, one can argue about beauty. African folklore African folklore – „God created the warthog to be a...
#projectdragonfly

#projectdragonfly

Combating erosion at the Waterberg Wilderness valley and dragonflies as indicators for a healthy freshwater ecosystem. If dragonflies are absent from a water body, the potential issues may be water contamination due to pesticides, excessive nutrients from agriculture...
Rhinos poached on Ghaub

Rhinos poached on Ghaub

In mid-May, poachers trespassed the Ghaub nature reserve and killed a rhino cow. The horns were hacked off and stolen … In the early afternoon of May 16, a group of rhinos was grazing in an open area of the savannah – two cows with their two 13-month-old...
New equipment for game guards

New equipment for game guards

Experiencing rhinos in the wild – up close. At Ghaub Nature Reserve in the Otavi Mountains or at Waterberg Wilderness in Namibia’s central north. Nature conservation is expensive. A total of 24 guards are responsible for the protection of the diverse fauna at...

Der Marula-Baum

Der Marula-Baum

In unseren Farmküchen wird nicht nur die Marula-Frucht, sondern jetzt auch die Nuss verwertet. Erfahren sie mehr über diesen einzigartigen Baum und seine Nutzung. Ein Wahrzeichen der Botanik auf Ghaub. Schon seit langem gilt die Marula als wichtige Nahrungsquelle für...
Andersson Trail

Andersson Trail

Schnüren Sie die Wanderschuhe: Erkunden Sie das Tal von Waterberg Wilderness auf eigene Faust, auf fünf markierten Pfaden mit Aussichtspunkten. Untenstehend ein Einblick zum Andersson Trail und seinem Namensgeber. Ein schwedischer Entdecker am Waterberg Der Pfad ist...
Warzenschwein-Folklore

Warzenschwein-Folklore

Das Warzenschwein wird oft als Tier mit misslichen Gesichtszügen angesehen, ist dennoch der Protagonist unserer etwas anderen Weihnachtsgeschichte – von Warzen und afrikanischer Folklore. Über Schönheit lässt sich bekanntlich streiten. Afrikanische Folklore „Gott hat...
#projektlibelle

#projektlibelle

Erosionsbekämpfung im Tal von Waterberg Wilderness und Libellen als Indikatoren für ein gesundes Süßwasser-Ökosystem. Wenn Libellen einem Gewässer fernbleiben, kann dies auf eine Wasserverschmutzung durch Pestizide, übermäßige Nährstoffe aus der Landwirtschaft oder...
Nashörner auf Ghaub gewildert

Nashörner auf Ghaub gewildert

Mitte Mai sind Wilderer in das Naturreservat von Ghaub eingedrungen und haben eine Nashornkuh getötet. Die Hörner wurden abgehackt und gestohlen… Am frühen Nachmittag des 16. Mai weidete eine Gruppe Nashörner auf einer offenen Fläche der Savanne – zwei...